Tips for Travel Writing 2

Travel Writing Tips gathered from L. Peat O’Neil’s, Travel Writing — Chapter 3

1. On note-taking while traveling: “I favor a Zen approach– experience the moment and develop a strong visual and aural memory. I think we remember best what we experience deeply. For me, writing continuously while trying to capture events going on around me results in a diluted impression.”

2. On transforming notes into a travel article: ” Passive voice became active voice: ” cars are heard” became “I could hear.”

3. Over the years, I’ve learned how important it is for a travel writer to talk to other people, ask questions, and observe.

 

Leave a Reply

